Skip to:

College of Business Print Logo 100th Year Anniversary Logo


Attention Senior Finance Majors: Swayze Scholarship

1-7-13 - Attention: Seniors Majoring in Finance:

The Mississippi Young Bankers (MYB) annually selects 5 students to attend (expenses paid) the MYB Annual Convention. Four of these students are designated Mississippi Young Bankers Scholars and will receive a plaque and a cash award of $1,000 each. One of the five will be designated the Swayze Scholar and receive a medallion, plaque, and a cash award of $2,500. The Orrin H. Swayze scholar is one of the highest honors in the banking profession, and the student who receives it (or is a finalist) is virtually guaranteed a good job and a fairly successful career in banking.

If you plan to graduate in 2013 (May, August, or December) and you will be designated a Senior in the Spring of 2013, please review and complete the attached scholarship application. Return completed applications along with your resume to Dr. Highfield in the Department of Finance and Economics (312 McCool) by Tuesday, January 15, 2013. The finance faculty will then select up to 5 MSU nominees. Dr. Highfield will then complete a recommendation letter for each of the MSU nominees and submit it with the applications to the MYB Swayze Scholar Selection Committee.

Mississippi State University has won the Swayze Award for the past five years straight (2012 - William Robbins, 2011 - Robert Chittom, 2010 - Michelle Peach, 2009 - Hunter Futch , and 2008 - Jeff Overstreet). Of course, USM and UM would love to take the title away from us, but MSU needs to continue to dominate this award. We can only do that if you apply.

If you have any questions, please contact the Department of Finance and Economics.

Good luck.

Document: Swayze Scholarship Application2013.pdf

Back to current news.